Your IP address () and location () are vulnerable to tracking. Conceal your identity now. Install dfndr vpn.
Fake app

Fake App is Designed to Take Over Your Twitter Account

The app markets itself as a way for you to check who visits your Twitter profile. But, don’t be fooled.

Phishing scams and other online cons are growing in volume and they are now coming for your Twitter account. There’s a new fake app designed to take over your account, giving cybercriminals the ability to change your information and promote their phony app through your profile. Watch out for this scam because it’s overtaking a large amount of Twitter accounts and yours could be next.

Read More: What You Need to Know About Twitter’s New Privacy Policy

When you’re on the go and tweeting for pleasure or for work, make sure you follow common sense, especially with your Android phone. Download a security app like dfndr security, which has a full virus scan feature that does a thorough scan of your device, memory card, and SD card for any threats, promptly eliminating them. Things do happen, so remain aware of how this latest Twitter scam operates.

“Who Visits Your Twitter Profile?”
These online scam artists are talented because they’ve advertised the fake app as a tool to see who is visiting your Twitter profile. However, divulging this information is a breach of privacy and Twitter doesn’t allow this type of information to be shared. The phony app counts on people who want to grow their follower base or just terribly curious, and have successfully lured in victims with hollow promises.

Once downloaded, the app asks for permission to read tweets from your timeline, see your followers, follow new people, update your profile, and post tweets on your behalf. Yup, it can actually tweet for you, but in the form of spam. Scams, fake news, and even phishing scams are all taking your Twitter name in vain. The ultimate goal for these cybercriminals is to hook more people in and rack up a financial gain.

How to Get Rid of It?
Many have gone on Twitter to warn users about the pitfalls of this app, which seems enticing on the outside, but has caused a world of pain to many who’ve fallen for it. Thankfully, you can get rid of it without much hassle when you access Twitter on a computer.

Go to your Settings section on the site, then click Privacy, scroll down to Apps until you find the app that says “Last visits 24 hours.” Once you reach this point, click “Revoke Access” and you should be free from the app once and for all.

What Else Should I Know?
Be wary of anything you see on Twitter that seems too good to be true or asks you to click on a link without any information preceding it. These kinds of tweets are likely a scam or a phishing trap to get you to click through. Having a security app installed can help thwart threats and guard your social media accounts.