Tips & Tutorials

Biggest Misunderstandings of Facebook Features Made Public

Facebook is so commonplace in our lives that it’s no surprise people believe some wacky things about how Facebook really operates. Some of the beliefs about Facebook’s practices aren’t all that surprising. For example, isn’t it kind of strange that you have to search to find hidden messages on the Facebook app? Strange or not, we’ll bust three of the most common myths people believe about Facebook.

Myth #1: Facebook will soon become a paid subscription service.

Reality: Facebook repeatedly lets its users know its pricing situation on its main page, saying “It’s free and always will be.” But this tagline still doesn’t stop posts from circulating every so often about how Facebook will imminently start charging users. The posts often circulate because they promise that if the user reposts the status, he or she will not be charged when everyone else is. Facebook operates by selling its users data to companies, however, so the money the company makes from its users’ free data is likely worth more than a subscription would ever be.

Read More: Facebook is Testing Snapchat-Inspired Stories Feature

Myth #2: There are ways to see who’s viewed your profile.

Reality: There are no apps, no websites, and no software you can download to see who has viewed your Facebook profile, but that fact doesn’t mean that this myth doesn’t have staying power. How many times have you seen spam or articles claiming they can let you know who has viewed your profile? But Facebook has repeatedly let users know that the website itself doesn’t let users know who’s viewed their profiles — and third-party apps won’t work either.

Myth #3: You can quit Facebook at any time.

Reality: You can deactivate your Facebook profile at any time, but reactivating your account is as simple as logging in again. To delete your account permanently, you have to apply for a deletion, but Facebook says that deleting your account entirely off of the social networking site could take months. While you’re trying to get your account completely deleted, too, the deletion process will be discontinued if you accidentally log in anywhere, too. Facebook really, really doesn’t want to see you go.   

These myths aren’t true, but as you can see, many of them are widely believed. Have you ever believed something that turned out not to be true about Facebook? Let us know in the comments.

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

How to Free Up Phone Storage Without Deleting Important Photos

The “storage almost full” warning tends to appear at the worst possible time — when…

57 years ago

How to Set Up Find Hub Before You Lose Your Phone

Losing your phone can turn an ordinary day into a race against time. Your device…

57 years ago

RatHat Android malware: how AI and permissions are used

RatHat Android malware drew attention because it uses artificial intelligence during an attack. The more…

57 years ago

Siri AI requirements: supported devices, settings, and privacy controls

The Siri AI beta began rolling out in English on September 14, 2026. Updating to…

57 years ago

What Not to Share With ChatGPT, Gemini, or Any AI

You can ask an AI assistant to summarize a contract, review a document, or explain…

57 years ago

How to See Which Apps Use Your Camera, Microphone, and Location

You open one app to order food, another to edit a photo, and another to…

57 years ago