Deactivating vs. Deleting Your Facebook Account
Facebook is one of the most connective social media platforms in the world, but what happens when you want to get rid of your account?
With more than a billion users, Facebook is the most popular social media platform on the planet. More than a seventh of the world uses this social network to connect, check up on friends, and engage in a whole bunch of other activities. However, Facebook isn’t for everyone. Whether you’re experiencing some serious FOMO (“Fear of Missing Out”), are tired of comparing your life to that of your Facebook friends, or just want to end your social media addiction, there’s a chance you may be ready for a Facebook break. However, taking a break, and erasing your profile entirely, are two very different things.
Deactivating vs. Deleting
If you’re looking to take a break from Facebook for a while, deactivating your account is a quick and easy option.
To deactivate your Facebook, go to the top right corner of your Facebook page, and click on the account menu. From there, you can click “Settings,” and then “Security.” On the Security page, you can select “Deactivate you account,” and confirm.
For those who don’t know the difference between deactivating an account and deleting one, here are the basics. When you deactivate an account, your profile is no longer searchable or visible to anyone on Facebook. Although the old messages you’ve sent to your friends may still be present, this would be the only visible remnant of your account. However, by deactivating rather than deleting, you can reactivate just by logging in with your email and password. By doing so, your profile is restored entirely — friends, photos, hobbies, and more, are all live.
In contrast, deleting your Facebook account is a much more permanent step, and it means all your information will be erased from the site completely. There is no longer the option to reactivate, and get back your profile information. If you want to delete, but aren’t sure you want to risk losing all of your data, Facebook provides an option to download a copy of your info from the site. Then, if you delete the account, but want to create a new one later, this process is made easier.
So, whether you want to temporarily deactivate your account, or would rather get rid of your profile entirely, Facebook has a solution for you. However, if you’ve decided to stick around, be sure to check out our tips for getting the most out of Facebook, and its messenger.