Your IP address () and location () are vulnerable to tracking. Conceal your identity now. Install dfndr vpn.
How to Delete or Leave a Facebook Group

How to Delete or Leave a Facebook Group

Groups provide easy ways to chat, plan, or share interests with new and old friends. Here’s how you can leave or delete a group with ease

Facebook users have the unparalleled ability to network with each other, and meet up online for all manner of discourse and dialogue. Whether you want to talk about last night’s episode of Game of Thrones, or take users on in heated political debates, chances are there’s a Facebook group for that.

Integral to Facebook’s social networking model is the group, which is a cornerstone of the popular platform. Groups are designed to suit an unfathomably large range of users, and their members could be just about anybody, from the average joe to a real-life celebrity. Whatever the purpose of a group, and no matter who populates them, it’s a safe bet to say most Facebook users are in agreement when it comes to their importance.

Sometimes, however, groups lose their popularity. Maybe what was once an active space has lost its core membership, or a TV show people once raved about has lost its appeal. Whatever the case, you may decide to delete or leave a group as a result.

Deleting or Leaving a Facebook Group
If you’re not an administrator of the group, and have decided you’ve lost interest, all you need to do is stop by the group’s homepage, and click the button in the upper-right-hand corner that says “Joined.” This will give you the option to unfollow, or straight-up leave the group.

If you are an admin or group creator, there are a few special steps you need to follow. Luckily, they’ll only take a couple of minutes, depending on the size of your group! First, click the button that says “Members” under the group’s cover photo. Click the drawing-of-a-gear button next to the name of each member in the group, which will let you delete them from said group. Once all the group members are gone, simply click the “Leave Group” button next to your name. As all of the members will have already been deleted, your departure from the group will effectively shut it down.

However, it’s important to note that Facebook offers a small caveat about deleting groups. If you’re an admin, but didn’t create the group yourself, the group’s original creator has to let themselves be deleted before you can completely shut the group down.

Something for Everyone
No matter your interest, there’s a Facebook group for you. Have a favorite Facebook group you’re already a part of? Be sure to share it in the comments below. If you’re looking for additional tips when it comes to this popular, social media platform, PSafe has got you covered. Check out our tips for using the Facebook app like a pro, and our updates on the network’s changes.