Categories: Tips & Tutorials

How Does Instagram Generate Recommended Searches?

From ads that mirror recently visited websites to suggested searches that remember accounts you stalked weeks ago, Instagram’s data collection and use is unnerving. The social media platform takes note of your likes, follows, comments, hashtags, location, photo content, and more, all in the name of a better Instagram experience. Even scarier, the app remembers this information after you clear your in-app search history. Learn how Instagram really works.

Read More: College Students: A Prime Target for Hacking

Instagram’s Search Suggestions Algorithm
Instagram’s suggested search accounts are based on a number of criteria, the most important of these being your own search history. Unless your history has been cleared fairly recently, the three suggested accounts will typically be those you searched for by name, which came up as a result of your search and whose photos you viewed.

Search Suggestions After Your History Has Been Cleared
However, Instagram’s suggested search algorithm is not based on previous search history alone. Users who delete their Instagram search history will still receive suggestions when navigating the search feature.

Without access to your search data, the app relies instead on the interaction between accounts and similarities in content. These suggestions will be based on Facebook friends if the accounts are linked, most recently liked photos or accounts that liked your photos, shared followers, and accounts that have commented on your photos or you on theirs. In addition, the social media platform also considers hashtags, post content, and location when creating suggestions.

How to Clear Instagram Search History
While users will never be able to completely foil Instagram’s search algorithm, users can delete search history to keep some of their activity within the app private.

To do so, open the app and tap the profile icon in the lower left-hand corner. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner and scroll through the “Options” menu to the bottom. Tap “Clear Search History,” the third-to-last option on the page, and confirm your decision by choosing “Yes, I’m sure” on the pop-up. To prevent specific accounts from showing up in your top searches, visit the top search page, press and hold on the account name and click Hide in the pop-up menu.

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Should You Connect Your Apps to an AI Assistant? 3 Questions to Ask Before Allowing Access

Imagine asking an AI assistant to organize your schedule, find an important document, or summarize…

57 years ago

Does a Padlock in Your Browser Always Mean a Website Is Safe?

You're shopping online, find a great deal, and notice a small padlock next to the…

57 years ago

October Android Update: What Changes for Your Phone?

Have you ever received an Android update notification and decided to install it later? In…

57 years ago

Einstein Hospital Cyberattack: What Patient Data Was Accessed and How to Stay Safe

A cyberattack targeting Einstein Hospital Israelita, one of Brazil's leading hospitals, has raised concerns about…

57 years ago

Which New AI Feature Is Actually Useful on Your Phone?

AI on your phone can already generate images, summarize text, answer questions and help write…

57 years ago

Does Receiving a WhatsApp Code You Didn’t Request Mean Your Account Was Hacked?

didn't try to log in, change phones, or register your number anywhere. It is easy…

57 years ago