Security

How Malware Uses Fake Login Screens to Gain Personal Info

Session-hijacking is now a very real concern for cell phone users worldwide. Recently, a threat known as “overlay malware” has begun appearing on Android devices. Impersonating login pages from popular websites, this malware steals a user’s name and password through keystroke-logging. These hacked sites are often ones that hold a person’s most confidential information, such as their bank and social media accounts. Giving up this personal data to hackers can lead to disastrous consequences, such as identity fraud and theft. Click here to scan your device for malware and keep your personal information safe:

In order to keep your personal information safe, you should regularly scan your device for malware, especially after downloading any new apps or accidentally clicking suspicious-looking links. DFNDR’s Full Virus Scan feature is an excellent weapon in the fight against malware. The Full Virus Scan searches through your entire phone, looking through every app and inch of storage. It will check your phone and your phone’s SD card for any malware, and quickly deal with any security breaches it finds.

Read More: Dangerous New Android Malware Discovered

Recent Appearances of Keystroke-Logging Malware

Back in August 2016, keystroke-logging malware had infected Google’s AdSense Network. The Moscow security company warned Android users about a malware that would attack when they visited certain Russian news sites. These unsuspecting visitors didn’t even need to click on anything. The so-called “last-browser-update.apk” would simply download itself onto their phone. Turns out, last-browser-update.apk is a banking Trojan. Banking Trojans are specifically designed to steal a user’s online banking information.

Similarly, Netflix suffered a phishing scan at the beginning of 2017. In January, users were targeted with emails, pretending to be sent by the popular streaming site. These phishing emails would ask for the user’s login details, then proceed to acquire their credit card information. This keystroke malware was so thorough in its design that it even gave Netflix users the option of logging in through Facebook. When the phishing attack ended, it brought users to the real Netflix page. Click here to protect yourself from phishing attacks and malicious websites with the Anti-Hacking feature:

Indeed, perhaps the most troubling aspect of fake login screens is how convincing they’ve become. Hackers are very, very detail-oriented in their approach now. So, it’s best to protect your Android with Full Virus Scan, running regular scans, and Anti-Hacking. You never know what new threats could be lurking out there.
PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Should You Connect Your Apps to an AI Assistant? 3 Questions to Ask Before Allowing Access

Imagine asking an AI assistant to organize your schedule, find an important document, or summarize…

57 years ago

Does a Padlock in Your Browser Always Mean a Website Is Safe?

You're shopping online, find a great deal, and notice a small padlock next to the…

57 years ago

October Android Update: What Changes for Your Phone?

Have you ever received an Android update notification and decided to install it later? In…

57 years ago

Einstein Hospital Cyberattack: What Patient Data Was Accessed and How to Stay Safe

A cyberattack targeting Einstein Hospital Israelita, one of Brazil's leading hospitals, has raised concerns about…

57 years ago

Which New AI Feature Is Actually Useful on Your Phone?

AI on your phone can already generate images, summarize text, answer questions and help write…

57 years ago

Does Receiving a WhatsApp Code You Didn’t Request Mean Your Account Was Hacked?

didn't try to log in, change phones, or register your number anywhere. It is easy…

57 years ago