Performance

How to Remove Location Data from Android Photos

Smartphones have revolutionized the way we take and share photos. While this is undoubtedly a fun and convenient tool to have at our disposal, the increasing use of mobile devices has left many a user (understandably) paranoid and skeptical of releasing more data than they absolutely have to. One of these data points is Location. Most of the time we don’t even realize it’s on and working, whether through GPS or Wifi, and only later when we see that it’s been recorded do we get weirded out. Here are some ways to remove location data from the photos you take.

Disable Location Settings Universally

The easiest thing you could do to ensure your photos won’t have your site stamp is to simply turn off location tracking on your Android. If you’re the type of person who prefers privacy and doesn’t want to be bothered on any app or in any scenario, doesn’t use maps, and so on, then skip the hassle and just go this route.

  • Click the settings icon from the “all apps” section
  • Scroll down to “Personal,” then select “Location”
  • Toggle the On button to Off

Read More: World Cyber Security Day

Disable the Camera’s Location Settings

Turning off location settings overall is not a viable option for users who frequent apps like “maps” to get around or service apps that use your location to find restaurants or places of interest in your immediate vicinity. If you want to turn off locations for photo-taking only but spare the other applications, then make the following adjustments directly in your camera app.

  • Select the Camera app from the “all apps” section
  • Tap left menu on the display
  • Click “Settings,” then toggle “Save location” to off

Removing Location Data from Photos You Share

Location data on photos can be fun or useful — when posting to Facebook or reminiscing on times past. If you don’t want to remove location data on all photos entirely, you can make modifications to individual photos and albums you want to share via a link.

  • Launch Google Photos
  • Click on the left menu to find Settings
  • Under Location you’ll see the option to remove Geolocation: toggle to “on”

Also, as an added bonus, Google offers a feature called “estimated location.” If you upload or save a photo taken from another device, such as a camera, Google will estimate the location at which it was taken. To disable that data, select the photo from your photo library and click the “info” icon, which will let you “remove location” from the right menu beside the estimated location.

 

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

How to Free Up Phone Storage Without Deleting Important Photos

The “storage almost full” warning tends to appear at the worst possible time — when…

57 years ago

How to Set Up Find Hub Before You Lose Your Phone

Losing your phone can turn an ordinary day into a race against time. Your device…

57 years ago

RatHat Android malware: how AI and permissions are used

RatHat Android malware drew attention because it uses artificial intelligence during an attack. The more…

57 years ago

Siri AI requirements: supported devices, settings, and privacy controls

The Siri AI beta began rolling out in English on September 14, 2026. Updating to…

57 years ago

What Not to Share With ChatGPT, Gemini, or Any AI

You can ask an AI assistant to summarize a contract, review a document, or explain…

57 years ago

How to See Which Apps Use Your Camera, Microphone, and Location

You open one app to order food, another to edit a photo, and another to…

57 years ago