Security

The iOS Privacy Icon Will Not Stop Phishing Attacks

If you’re an Apple lover, the new iOS privacy icon can protect you from certain things, but it still leaves your device vulnerable to phishing attacks, sadly. These type of cyber attacks are aimed at stealing your personal and financial information, and usually, the final goal is identity theft or straight up financial gain.

Read More: Snapchat Users Subjected to Malicious Phishing Attack

The best way to fully protect your iOS device from being hit with a phishing attack is by using dfndr vpn, which blocks phishing attempts as you navigate the web, while also ‘hiding’ your IP address from hackers, so all your online activities remain private and secure.

Learn more about the holes in the iOS privacy icon and what you can do about it.

Data Collection
The latest iOS software update introduced a privacy icon, which helps you identify when Apple asks for more personal information. However, the update does not change the amount of data that Apple collects. Instead, the icon shows you what data will be collected when using an Apple app or feature for the first time. This new privacy feature is mostly useful for understanding how your app experience will be personalized through data collection.

However, phishing attacks may still be successful even after you update security features because your iCloud password could still be a target of hackers. Because your iPhone or iPad often asks you to confirm your username and password without indicating why, this vulnerability gives hackers the opportunity to inject malicious code and attain your information.

Protecting Yourself
If a legit looking pop-up appears on your iPhone asking for sign-in information, verify this prompt by clicking on the ‘home’ button. If doing so removes the pop-up, then it was a phishing scam because a true pop-up does not disappear after hitting the ‘home’ button.

You should also never enter your credentials through an app. Instead, exit the app and go to your iTunes account through Settings. Logins stay active for several minutes by default, so you should be able to open the app without authenticating yourself once you go through iTunes. That’s your clue if it’s legitimate or not.

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Android Security Update: Check the August Patch

Google published the August 2026 Android security update bulletin on August 3, with patch levels…

57 years ago

Does Leaving Wi-Fi On Drain Your Phone Battery?

Do you turn Wi-Fi off whenever you leave home because you expect your battery to…

57 years ago

Google Drive Stopped Photos Backup: What Changed

A Google backup change can be easy to miss. As of August 10, 2026, Drive…

57 years ago

IC3 Scam: How to Spot Fake FBI Recovery Offers

Would you trust someone who claims to work for the FBI, knows details about a…

57 years ago

QR Code Scam: How to Spot a Fake QR Code Before You Scan It

Do you check a QR code before you scan it? A QR code scam takes…

57 years ago

How to Lock Apps on Android With a PIN, Password, or Fingerprint

Want to know how to lock apps on Android with a PIN, password, pattern, or…

57 years ago