Tips & Tutorials

Your Guide to Safely Using Family-Sharing Accounts

Family-sharing is a great way for families to stay on the same plans or accounts as far as their electronics go, and it certainly simplifies things for parents that are looking for easy ways to manage their child’s Internet and data usage, as well as safety. In order to keep your devices safe, use the Advanced Protection feature to reinforce your family’s security on their Androids. Click here to protect your phone from hackers and thieves:


You can set up family-sharing on mobile devices or even on particular softwares that you use on a day-to-day basis. However, family-sharing could come with its own list of associated risks, which is why it’s important to use Advanced Protection. Find out more about how to use this innovative offering without worry below.

Read More: Stay on Top of Your Vacation Plans with These Android Apps

How Family-Sharing Accounts Are Helpful
There are many ways family-sharing accounts can be helpful, particularly when parents are looking to keep their children out of harm’s way. From a logistical standpoint, too, family-sharing accounts make payment and account management easier, which is a huge plus!

First, family-sharing accounts allow for location services to alert parents of where their children are located at virtually all times. It allows parents to track their every movement and know when they arrive at school safely. Additionally, family-sharing features make it easier for parents to dictate what applications, websites, and information their children have available to them on their cell phones.

With so much explicit content on the Internet, this is a helpful feature to take advantage of. Finally, these features allow you to limit your child’s time online, blocking them from certain social or gaming apps during homework time or the school day.

Safety Concerns of Family-Sharing
Because family-sharing accounts allow for so much heightened access across your family’s devices, it also poses some safety concerns. Namely, if a person’s device gets hacked, it means that the whole family is then at risk. That could mean the compromising of sensitive information and passwords.

Also, if one person’s device is lost or stolen, it will be easy for whoever gets their hands on that device to access the potentially sensitive or personal information of others. This includes others’ locations through the feature that allows for tracking. Additionally, this means that whoever has the device would be able to remotely wipe the devices of other family members, which is obviously less than ideal!

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Android Security Update: Check the August Patch

Google published the August 2026 Android security update bulletin on August 3, with patch levels…

57 years ago

Does Leaving Wi-Fi On Drain Your Phone Battery?

Do you turn Wi-Fi off whenever you leave home because you expect your battery to…

57 years ago

Google Drive Stopped Photos Backup: What Changed

A Google backup change can be easy to miss. As of August 10, 2026, Drive…

57 years ago

IC3 Scam: How to Spot Fake FBI Recovery Offers

Would you trust someone who claims to work for the FBI, knows details about a…

57 years ago

QR Code Scam: How to Spot a Fake QR Code Before You Scan It

Do you check a QR code before you scan it? A QR code scam takes…

57 years ago

How to Lock Apps on Android With a PIN, Password, or Fingerprint

Want to know how to lock apps on Android with a PIN, password, pattern, or…

57 years ago