Security

Google’s Password Alert Tool Helps Prevent Phishing Attacks

Google is always searching for ways to make your accounts more secure. Recently, the mega-company banned secret malware apps from downloading onto Android. Now, a new tool protects you from phishing attempts whenever you sign into websites that require Google login credentials that aren’t from the Google sign in page. Here’s what you need to know about Password Alert and how you can start using on your devices.

What is Password Alert?

Google’s new Password Alert protection helps you protect yourself from hackers if you sign into any account aside from the main sign-in page that requires a Google sign in. Password Alert works by gaining temporary access to your password every time you sign into your Google account. The tool saves a thumbnail of your password to your browser’s local storage and compares the thumbnail to the password you enter to websites other than the main sign-in page.

Read More: Google Bans Apps That Secretly Download Malware onto Android

Google apps administrators can also use the Password Alert Server to send email alerts, suggest users change their passwords if they enter them into insecure websites, or turn on password auditing.

For what browsers is Password Alert available?

Password Alert is only available on Chrome. Google has other password protection add-ons available for other browsers, but you’ll only be able to use Password Alert on this particular browser.

How do I turn on Password Alert?

  1. Sign into your Google account.
  2. Ensure that JavaScript is enabled for Google Apps to work.
  3. Download Password Alert from the Chrome store.
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions for enabling Password Alert on your Chrome browser.
  5. Re-sign into your Google Accounts. Now, Password Alerts will be enabled every time you sign into accounts.google.com.

How do I turn Password Alert off?

  1. Sign into your Google account.
  2. Select the Chrome menu on your browser toolbar.
  3. Navigate to “More Tools.”
  4. Navigate to “Extensions” where you’ll find Password Alert in the list.
  5. Delete Password Alert.
PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Google Drive Stopped Photos Backup: What Changed

A Google backup change can be easy to miss. As of August 10, 2026, Drive…

57 years ago

IC3 Scam: How to Spot Fake FBI Recovery Offers

Would you trust someone who claims to work for the FBI, knows details about a…

57 years ago

QR Code Scam: How to Spot a Fake QR Code Before You Scan It

Do you check a QR code before you scan it? A QR code scam takes…

57 years ago

How to Lock Apps on Android With a PIN, Password, or Fingerprint

Want to know how to lock apps on Android with a PIN, password, pattern, or…

57 years ago

Does Incognito Mode Hide Everything You Do Online? Myth vs. Fact

When you open an Incognito tab, do you assume websites, internet providers, and other people…

57 years ago

How to See Which Devices Are Signed In to Your Google Account

An old phone in a drawer, a tablet you traded in, or a computer you…

57 years ago