Tips & Tutorials

How to Make Your Facebook Friend List Private

It isn’t going too far to say that privacy is generally cherished, and appreciated by the masses. Yet, all too often, especially on social media sites like Facebook, it feels like we’re trapped in a glass box, with everyone we know (and even people we’ve never met before) peeking in. One of the most egregious gaps in our Facebook privacy is the fact that anyone can view who we’re friends with if we don’t have the proper settings in place.

If this open access makes you uncomfortable, here’s how you can prevent these viewings, and make your friend list private:

1. Log onto Facebook, and enter your personal timeline by clicking on the link that includes your name and profile picture, located on the right side of the top bar.

2. Once there, click on the button that says “Friends.” This link will be located directly above the box where you write status updates, post photos/videos, and create life events.

3. Then, in the “Friends” field of this page, go to the top right corner, and look for a small picture of a pencil. Click on this, and then click on the “Edit Privacy” link.

Read More: How to Unfriend or Unfollow on Facebook

4. Finally, in the top portion of this pop-up, you’ll see the question, “Who can see your friends list?” Click on the down arrow located on the right side, and choose the privacy setting that works best for you.

If you want to have the most privacy possible, click “Only Me.” However, you do have other options. You can make the list available to people who are friends with you (Friends), or restrict it to your especially good friends (Friends Except Acquaintances). You can even create a custom list of who can, and cannot access the list (Custom). If you later decide to drop these security restrictions entirely, you can always make your friends list available to everyone (Public).

5. (Optional): Click the down arrow that says “More Options” to see other alternatives for who can, and cannot, view your friend list.

Keep Personal Info Personal

We hope your enhanced security settings will give you peace of mind as you explore the most popular social media network in the world. But, why stop there? PSafe TOTAL includes features like Applock, and Antitheft to protect the data you keep on Facebook and Whatsapp, and make sure you can shutdown your device if it’s ever lost or stolen. This way, your Android can stay safe in more ways than one.

PSafe Newsroom

The dfndr blog is an informative channel that presents exclusive content on security and privacy in the mobile and business world, with tips to keep users protected. Populated by a select group of expert reporters, the channel has a partnership with dfndr lab's security team. Together they bring you, first-notice news about attacks, scams, internet vulnerabilities, malware and everything affecting cybersecurity.

Recent Posts

Should You Connect Your Apps to an AI Assistant? 3 Questions to Ask Before Allowing Access

Imagine asking an AI assistant to organize your schedule, find an important document, or summarize…

57 years ago

Does a Padlock in Your Browser Always Mean a Website Is Safe?

You're shopping online, find a great deal, and notice a small padlock next to the…

57 years ago

October Android Update: What Changes for Your Phone?

Have you ever received an Android update notification and decided to install it later? In…

57 years ago

Einstein Hospital Cyberattack: What Patient Data Was Accessed and How to Stay Safe

A cyberattack targeting Einstein Hospital Israelita, one of Brazil's leading hospitals, has raised concerns about…

57 years ago

Which New AI Feature Is Actually Useful on Your Phone?

AI on your phone can already generate images, summarize text, answer questions and help write…

57 years ago

Does Receiving a WhatsApp Code You Didn’t Request Mean Your Account Was Hacked?

didn't try to log in, change phones, or register your number anywhere. It is easy…

57 years ago