If you have concerns about how Facebook has been tracking your browser history and if the site has been targeting you with ads related to your history, there’s finally something you can do about it. Facebook CEO, Mark Zuckerberg, has announced that you can now prevent the social media site from tracking your browser history by simply asking them.
Read More: Why Bother Protecting Your Social Media Apps
Sounds so simple, but some users would like this option to be more obvious; however, learn more about this new feature and how it works.
What Brought This About?
Facebook faced plenty of backlash over the Cambridge Analytica scandal that revealed the company was harvesting the personal information of users, and selling the information to third-party companies so specific ads could be targeted to users that search for products or services.
Zuckerberg admitted at the company’s recent F8 conference that, by default, Facebook still tracks the activity of users and sends them ads connected to the information they search for. In the immediate future, users will be able to stop this practice with a new feature.
How Can Users Change This?
Supposedly the new feature will be similar to how you clear cookies and history in your web browser. Facebook’s feature will allow you to view your browsing history on the site and clear it, including what you’ve clicked on, app history, websites you’ve visited, and more.
Essentially, you’ll be able to choose to not have this information stored in your account. But, Zuckerberg warns that turning off function will eliminate some of your preferences the same way deleting cookies does, which will require you to sign onto sites again since the information in any auto-fill forms will be gone.
The Effect This Could Have
The move could bring many users back to Facebook because the will have the power to not have their preferences tracked. Zuckerberg added that the new privacy control will be called Clear History. He warned it would take the company about 3 years to become more proactive at policing content, which means you might still see content that doesn’t fit your preferences if you choose to keep your data tracking intact.
However, deleting your browsing history will result in the company removing identifying information so a log of sites and apps you’ve used won’t be connected to your account, which is a step toward more privacy.
The “storage almost full” warning tends to appear at the worst possible time — when…
Losing your phone can turn an ordinary day into a race against time. Your device…
RatHat Android malware drew attention because it uses artificial intelligence during an attack. The more…
The Siri AI beta began rolling out in English on September 14, 2026. Updating to…
You can ask an AI assistant to summarize a contract, review a document, or explain…
You open one app to order food, another to edit a photo, and another to…