Your IP address () and location () are vulnerable to tracking. Conceal your identity now. Install dfndr vpn.

How to Stop Your Android Phone From Tracking Your Location

No one needs Big Brother to be in their Android device. It can be a little creepy. Here’s how to stop him from knowing everywhere you go.

Have you ever browsed through your Google Photo Album and realized that your image’s locations were noted on the image? It didn’t matter if you were halfway around the world, or in your very own town, Google seemed to know exactly where you were.

It’s all due to location tracking, a feature that takes advantage of your smartphone’s internal GPS (as well as other sensors) and follows where you roam. It uses this information in different ways. It may tag your photos, but it can also be used in different app services, like Google Maps, Waze, or Uber. These apps would have requested location access through app permissions when first installed.

Read More: Is There Spyware on Your Android? Here’s How to Kill it!

If you aren’t a fan of that idea, it is possible to turn off location tracking – just remember that when you turn it off, it may affect the way certain apps (including Google Now) function.

What’s Location History?

Location reporting and location history are both turned off until you turn it on, like when Google Maps asks you if you want it to store a location, such as “home.” Location reporting is an option on each one of your devices.

“Location History,” according to Google, “helps you get useful information – for example, automatic commute predictions, improved search results – by creating a private map of where you go with your logged-in devices.”

You do have control over your location history; you can get rid of certain days, you can edit your locations, and you can delete the whole thing entirely. Switch it off or leave it on, the choice is yours.

Turning off Location Reporting

Search through your app drawer and look for “Settings.” From there, find “Location,” which could be a tab under the “Personal” category. Depending on the make of your phone, it could be somewhere else. Once you find it, there will be a tab that toggles the on and off options for location.

Next, scroll down within the same page until you see “Google Location History.” Turn it off for your Google accounts and click the tab to turn it off on your specific device.

You can even delete your entire location history which is a gray bar located at the bottom of the page.

 

WordPress › Error

The site is experiencing technical difficulties.